Saturday 05/10
Third Round
Golf - Women
Friday 05/09
Second Round
Golf - Women
Thursday 05/08
First Round
Golf - Women
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Arkansas
View larger

Pisani, Wilson named Star of Tomorrow Finalists

Athletic Communications
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
FAYETTEVILLE – Former University of Arkansas standouts Jaime Pisani and Tyler Wilson were selected as finalists for the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame Star of Tomorrow, the organization announced today.

Pisani was a first-team All-American in the all-around, on floor and on beam and second-team honoree on bars for the Razorback gymnastics team.  She finished third in the nation in the all-around, ninth on floor, 12th on beam and was ranked No. 1 in the nation for four weeks in the all-around during her senior season.

Pisani earned 2012 SEC Gymnast of the Year, was the SEC beam champion, first-team All-SEC, won 35 individual event titles and set or tied school records in the all-around, floor, beam and bars.  She earned her bachelor’s in kinesiology from Arkansas.

Wilson guided the Razorback football team to new heights and finished his career with 29 school records, including career pass yards.  He ranks in the top 10 in the SEC in several statistical categories and concluded his career ranked in top four on UA’s all-time career lists for pass attempts, total offense yards, total offense per play, touchdown passes, touchdown responsibility and total offense plays.

Wilson’s honors include selection to the Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Player of the Year, Davey O’Brien Award and Manning Award Watch Lists.

This is the second year of the award and former Razorback Joe Adams was the inaugural winner.  The award is presented annually to the top college athlete from either an Arkansas-based college or university or an out-of-state school if that athlete is from Arkansas.  The Star of Tomorrow Award will be presented during the Hall of Fame’s induction banquet on the evening of Friday, March 8, at Verizon Arena in North Little Rock. The award will be given for accomplishments during the 2012 calendar year.

In addition, former Razorbacks Stacy Lewis (women’s golf) and Frank O’Mara (men’s cross country/track and field) will be honored with induction into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame at the banquet.

Media relations directors from colleges and universities annually nominate athletes for the award. The number of nominees per school is determined by the full-time enrollment at the school. Colleges and universities with fewer than 5,000 students may nominate two athletes. The totals increase to four athletes for schools with between 5,000 and 10,000 students; six athletes for schools with between 10,000 and 15,000 students; eight athletes for schools with between 15,000 and 20,000 students; and 10 athletes for schools with more than 20,000 students.

A panel of media representatives determines the 10 finalists each year. The selection of each nominee is weighted as follows: 60 percent based on athletic performance, 20 percent based on academic performance and 20 percent based on community involvement.

Once the 10 finalists are selected each year, the winner is determined using the following formula: 25 percent based on a public vote, 25 percent based on a vote by dues-paying members of the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame, 25 percent based on a vote by members of the Arkansas sports media and 25 percent based on a vote by Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame inductees.

The 10 finalists for the award to be presented March 8 are:

* Megan Herbert, a basketball player from the University of Central Arkansas
* Ryan Aplin, a football player from Arkansas State University
* Ashley Ray, a softball player from Henderson State University
* Connor Silvestri, a soccer player from Hendrix College
* Tyler Wilson, a football player from the University of Arkansas
* Mickey Hammer, a cross country runner from Southern Arkansas University
* Melissa Clement, a volleyball player from Hendrix College
* Kevin Rodgers, a football player from Henderson State University
* Seth Allison, a football player from the University of Central Arkansas
*Jaime Pisani, a gymnast from the University of Arkansas

More information on the finalists can be found by going to www.arstaroftomorrow.com. The public can also vote at that website.

More Golf - Women
No rank or record available

12-13 Video Links || Media Guide Download || Records || Quick Facts || Archives

Walmart NW Arkansas LPGA Championship || Official Site

For Recruits
Student-Athlete Questionnaire

Razorbacks on the Professional Tours
On Tour with Stacy Lewis || Stacy Lewis bio
FUTURES Tour with Lucy Nunn
FUTURES Tour with Kristin Ingram
FUTURES Tour with Courtney Mahon

Uploaded Ad
Lowes Social Ad