NEW YORK – Arkansas’ two-time Doak Walker Award winner and Heisman Trophy runner-up Darren McFadden was selected with the No. 4 pick of the 2008 National Football League Draft by the Oakland Raiders. Former backfield mate Felix Jones was taken with the No. 22 pick by the Dallas Cowboys.

                McFadden becomes the highest drafted Razorback since Lamar McHan was taken with the No. 1 overall selection in 1954 by the Chicago Cardinals. He is only the fifth Arkansas player to be taken in the top five of the NFL Draft joining McHan, Kay Eakin (3rd, Pittsburgh, 1940), Jack Robbins (5th, Chicago Cardinals, 1938) and Billy Ray Smith, Jr. (5th, San Diego Chargers, 1983).

                This is the first time since 2004 Arkansas has had two players selected in the first round. That year, Shawn Andrews (16th) and  Ahmad Carroll (25th) were first-round picks for Philadelphia and Green Bay, respectively. The Razorbacks have had two players selected in the first round five times now (1967, 1983, 1989, 2004 and 2008).